Core vs Cardio? Choose Core!

chiropractor-meme1

Back pain is no joke. I’ve been dealing with two bulging discs and spinal stenosis for about 10 years. Basically it all went south after the birth of my second daughter.   I have a rigorous core routine that I HAVE to do or I pay the price.

I learned quickly with back pain that you really need a good orthopedic, chiropractors, and physical therapist.  I am so lucky to have found all three.   My training buddies ask me how I know who to see when. I guess I just know.

I start with the chiropractor. Most of the time the doctors at Performance Chiropractic can stretch me, pop me, and make it better.   (They are also awesome if you suffer from plantar fasciitis).   My favorite part of the visit is the “TENS” treatment.   Dr. Murphy and his staff work on the Blues and are all about getting you back on your feet.  Remember, this is your spine. Go with someone that comes highly recommended or you’ll end up worse for the wear.

When the pain just won’t quit it’s time to call Dr. Hurford.   Like Dr. Murphy she deals with athletes who are not fans of being sidelined.   She is also a proponent of pain management over surgery.   Here’s my one bit of advice I can pass on from Dr Hurford. “Do your core work!” When I see her, one of her first questions is about my core workouts. I feel like the bad kid who didn’t do my homework.  During race season I get so focused on running and cycling that I cut time from core. It’s so easy to do. So, when I do end up in her office we have a process. Besides medication, part of that process is physical therapy. It’s one of the best things she has done for me.

My physical therapist is now a dear friend of mine.   Melissa Thess is now leading up cancer rehab for SSM Physical Therapy.  I met Melissa when she was still rehabbing disasters like myself. I was in GREAT shape. So what was wrong? Per Melissa, many triathletes are lacking mobility in their thoracic spine which can lead to compensatory problems in the cervical and lumbar spine. (That would be me). She reminds me that it is important to have proper form. However due to compensation patterns many very healthy people do not use proper form which in turn leads to further problems down the road.  I have provided a link with some basic exercises. However, Melissa suggests you see a therapist at least once to learn them correctly.

At the end of the day, no one likes core work. It’s boring. You’re not building stamina. But I just can’t stress enough how important it is to make time for your core. Your swim, bike and run are weak without a happy core.

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.